Pinterest home decor hacks!

Confession: I’m a home decor junkie.

I could spend endless hours watching DIY home decor, cooking and seasonal decorating videos. There’s just something comforting about coming home to a space that’s well, you. And nothing beats the smell of a home cooked meal after a long day at the office or unwinding underneath freshly washed sheets and a yummy smelling candle. It’s these little pleasures that make a home, well, homey!

However, I find balancing my want to have a chic and aesthetically pleasing space without breaking the bank can be tricky. My boyfriend and I are moving into a new place in a few months and lets just say my desire to have a Williams-Sonoma catalogue kitchen doesn’t exactly fit into our Ikea post-grad budget! So, we’ve had to get creative when it comes to getting the most for our buck. But thankfully, that’s our forte. Even if you’re not creative or handy, I wanted to share a few simple DIYs that will help you transform your space for way less money

1.  Marble tabletop

b14426cdc7f47756682039ef55db1b2e

via

I’m in love with the marble trend for home decor! But is it worth investing +$300.00 in a trendy piece of furniture that could go out of style in a few years? No way. Which is why these marble adhesives are brilliant. Simply take an old table, sand it down, paint it and cover the top with this gorgeous marble pattern and bam! You have a marble-topped table that’s perfect for all your Instagram coffee posts (basic but let’s be real we all do this!)

This tutorial is super helpful and walks you through the process step by step!

2. Gallery wall

d0a7ce9835614172f85185dc81d3a9ab

via

By the time you invest in special frames and custom prints, a gallery wall can cost you hundreds. Why not invest in simple, affordable frames (I have had these ones from Ikea for four years and they’ve stood the test of time, I just keep replacing the photos.) Then you can add any photos/graphics you want. Why not try making your own prints with Photoshop or Illustrator? I like to do a mix of prints and photos of family and friends to keep it personal and to remind me of all the people that make me happy!

3. Planters

0b5a6d7c36db15f953bcb54bcfb33279

via

Studies have shown that growing herbs and plants in your home is fantastic for your health. You can read up on the benefits of various herbs and decide which ones you want to have, purchase them at your nearest home depot and plant them in an inexpensive planter pot (I’ve come across minimalistic white ones at the Dollar Store that are identical to $20.00 versions!)

4. Discount brands= your new best friend

88ec06502a2e00d447b452f069fe56b5

I definitely don’t need a white Le Creuset Dutch oven but oh em gee do I want one. I’ll admit that I’m a bit of label lover when it comes to big ticket items, but I can’t afford to drop $400.00 on just one baking dish! I highly recommend reading reviews and searching discount stores like Marshalls, T.J. Maxx and Homesense for affordable alternatives to brand name pieces. I was in Homesense this weekend and found a Cuisinart Dutch oven for $69.99! This list from Buzzfeed has some other great brands that will save you money without costing quality!

5. It doesn’t have to be perfect

1234252_10151843694076273_2002192459_n

My favourite from my grandma’s teacup collection!

As much as I love Instagram, Pinterest and all other forms of visual social media, it can put a lot of pressure on us to have perfect looking lives, homes, closets, et. Which is why it’s important to remember that the best homes are homes filled with memories. I’d rather have a cup that tells a story than a cup that is #trending on Instagram. So don’t be afraid to shop at thrift stores or use your grandma’s china at dinner parties. Instead of lusting after the latest Kate Spade dinnerware set, focus on the memories and the stories behind the pieces you have. I love having tea with my girlfriends and using my grandmother’s old tea cups and saucers and my boyfriend takes such pride in his beer glasses he’s collected from bars all over Europe. Our walls are covered in his old hockey jerseys and quirky postcards from our travels. These are the items you can’t get in a catalogue but are special because of the story behind them.

What are some of your favourite home decor hacks?

With love,

M xx

2 thoughts on “Pinterest home decor hacks!

Leave a Reply

