Eggplant parmesan (gluten free!)

Sometimes, all you need is cheese.

IMG_0778

Ooey, gooey, cheesy comfort food. That’s eggplant parmesan in a nutshell.

There are so many ways to make an eggplant parmesan, but I find baking it until it’s nice and crispy and then putting on the sauce and cheese to be the most delicious and crispy. After all, who wants a soggy eggplant parmesan? (Not me!) I made this for my boyfriend’s family who are gluten-free but you can just as easily sub panko breadcrumbs instead of the gluten-free variety I used.

IMG_0738

Another key player in making the perfect eggplant parm? You’ve got to select the perfect eggplant. I picked up this beautiful eggplant at the farmer’s market this past weekend and oh boy, could I taste the difference! This eggplant was grown on a farm within half an hour from where I live, talk about fresh!

Speaking of fresh… now that it’s finally summer here in Ontario I’m getting started on my herb garden! So far I have lavender (my fave) basil, rosemary and cilantro, but I’m hoping to add some thyme and mint among other herbs. For this eggplant parm, I mixed some fresh rosemary and basil from my garden into the seasoning mix for extra freshness. You can really taste it when you get a basil leaf in a bite!

Without further ado, let me give you the recipe!

 

Gluten-free Eggplant Parmesan

IMG_0779

  • One whole eggplant, skinned and sliced into quarter inch rounds
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 3/4 cup of gluten-free breadcrumbs
  • 3/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 1  tsp of oregano
  • 1/2 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp of fresh herbs, finely diced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 cups of your favourite tomato sauce
  • 2 cups of shredded aged cheddar cheese
  • additional parmesan and herbs for garnish

Preheat oven to 375 F and brush a baking sheet with olive oil. In a mixing bowl, whisk together eggs and water. In a separate mixing bowl, combine breadcrumbs, parmesan, herbs and spices until well mixed. Dip eggplant slices into the egg mixture, coating but allowing excess to drip off. Then dredge the slices in the breadcrumb mixture until completely covered. Lay slices evenly on your baking tray so none are overlapping. Bake for 20-25 minutes then flip onto reverse side and bake for another 20 minutes. Remove from oven. Spread 1 cup of sauce onto a 9×13″ baking pan. Layer eggplant slices, top with more sauce, shredded cheese, parmesan and repeat. Bake until cheese is fully melted and bubbling at the edges. Let stand for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Serves 3-4.

Give this eggplant parmesan recipe a try and let me know what you think! I promise you’ll love it’s crisp texture and cheesy exterior.

Xo

Meggs

Leave a Reply

