vegan chai tart

IMG_0795

Who said vegan has to be a bad word when it comes indulging in dessert?

Not me.

My boyfriend on the other hand? Different story. Any time I let the word vegan escape my from my lips, he winces and makes a sound of displeasure (not too different from a five year old being served broccoli) and says “yuck.” It’s gotten to the point where I have to trick him into eating vegan/vegetarian/gluten-free foods. For example, I brought home the most delicious Beechwood vegan doughnuts the other day and he devoured them. It wasn’t until after he’d finished them that I told him they were vegan. I know, this is what you do with children… Is that petty of me?

Anyways, back to the tart at hand (ha ha ha)

IMG_0790

This chai tart is super easy to make. Mainly because it requires no baking. #nobakedessertsftw. The crust consists of shredded coconut and Medjool dates, which when blended together form a delightful, sweet and caramelly dough that would be delicious on its own. It’s then topped with a pie “filling” made from soaked cashews (this is what gives vegan cheesecakes their creamy texture) topped with walnuts and melted chocolate.

IMG_0782

It’s unbeatable. The ooey, gooey crust, silky chai-flavoured filling and chocolate shell pair perfectly together in terms of flavours and textures. I actually told my boyfriend this was vegan and although he turned up his nose at first, I found half the pie eaten when I went to make my breakfast the next morning (which means he or a mouse got to it)

The recipe that inspired this creation called for cardamom and cloves for the chai spice. Well cardamom was $10 at the grocery store soooo I decided to improvise and use a chai tea bag. I do recommend using a high quality brand of chai as that is where the majority of your flavour is going to come from!

IMG_0789

Vegan Chai Tart

For the crust:

1 1/2 cups of pitted Medjool dates

1 cup of shredded coconut

2 tbsp of coconut oil

2-3 tbsp water

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until mixture is well combined and sticky. Spread into a greased loaf or tart pan.

For filling:

3 cups of raw cashews, soaked overnight

1/2 cup of pure maple syrup

1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

1/4 cup of coconut oil

1/4 tsp of cinnamon

1 chai tea bag

1/4 cup of white chocolate chips and dark chocolate chips plus coconut oil for melting

1/3 cup of walnut halves

Blend cashews, maple syrup, vanilla, oil and spices together in your food processor until the mixture is completely combined and creamy. Pour on top of your crust. Top with a drizzle of melted chocolate and walnuts. Freeze for 4-6 hours or overnight. Let stand for 20 minutes before cutting and serving.

What’s your favourite vegan dessert?

XX

Meggs

 

Leave a Reply

