Salmon burgers with pineapple salsa

IMG_0840

Oh, hello perfect summer burger.

I have to confess, I was hesitant to try salmon burgers for a while. In fact, I actually don’t even really like salmon to begin with. But, I’d been seeing variations all over the place and figured why not give it a shot? My boyfriend likes salmon so someone will end up eating them if I don’t.

IMG_0842

Take it from a former salmon skeptic, these burgers are the bomb dot com. Perfectly grilled on the outside, tender and fresh on the inside thanks to salmon, dijon mustard and fresh herbs. What really takes these burgers over the top though is the pineapple salsa! If you read my last post, you’ll know that I’ve given up dairy products for the next month. How can you have a great burger without cheese you ask? Top it with some fresh salsa, that’s how. It’s arguably even better than cheese.

IMG_0824

I’m a firm believer that you can make a delicious salsa out of just about anything. Have a spare mango? Some onions? Some canned peaches? Make that into a peach-mango salsa! Use it as dip for chips, a topping for tacos or on top of burgers. It’s so versatile.

IMG_0825

This salsa consists of fresh pineapple, purple onion, tomato, cilantro, lime juice, salt & pepper. I would add some fresh jalapeños or habanero peppers for a little extra kick if you so desire! The salsa comes together so quickly, you can whip it up while you grill the burgers.

IMG_0829

Speaking of grilling, I used a Cuisinart deluxe griddle to make these salmon burger patties. It’s a great alternative for students/young people/people who don’t have a barbecue. It provides all the great flavours and grill marks you’d get from an outdoor grill, but it’s so much simpler to use (and it makes delicious paninis)

IMG_0842

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 4.33.23 PM

Make these salmon burgers and let me know what you think!

 

Xx

Megs

Leave a Reply

